Book online with select Franklin Medical Group physicians

Published on August 23, 2013

Emergency Responders to be Honored as Saint Mary’s Hospital 2013 Champions

WATERBURY, Conn. (August 23, 2013)─Each year, Saint Mary’s Hospital honors an individual or group who has provided significant contributions to the hospital and the community. This year, the hospital will honor more than 1,500 men and women who serve the Greater Waterbury community as emergency responders as the 2013 Saint Mary’s Hospital Champions.

The honorees include firefighters, police, EMTs, paramedics and dispatchers from Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Cheshire, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oxford, Plymouth, Prospect, Southbury, Thomaston, Waterbury, Watertown, Wolcott and Waterbury. All will be honored at Saint Mary’s 2013 Champion Dinner, which will be held Monday, September 9, 2013 at the Coco Key Water Resort, Hotel & Convention Center in Waterbury.

“We are pleased to honor the men and women who comprise the emergency responders in our service area,” said Peggy Lawlor, President of the Saint Mary’s Hospital Foundation. “These individuals are our neighbors, colleagues and co-workers. We turn to them when we are facing the worst and through their efforts, countless lives are saved. It is important to acknowledge and recognize their contributions, and their dedication to providing services that are critical to our patients and the community.”

The co-chairs for this year’s Champion Dinner are Dr. Peter J. Jacoby of Woodbury, Chairman of the Department of Emergency Services at Saint Mary’s Hospital, and Susan M. Webster of Bristol, Executive Director of the Northwest CT Public Safety Communication Center.

Dr. Jacoby has been a member of the Saint Mary’s Hospital medical staff since 1980, providing leadership for the hospital’s Emergency Department, one of the busiest in the state, since 1988. Dedicated to local emergency services organizations, he serves as the medical advisor for the Woodbury Volunteer Ambulance Association and is also a former chairman of the EMS Advisory Board for the State of Connecticut and past medical director for the Northwest CT Emergency Medical Services Council. On the national level, Dr. Jacoby has served as council speaker of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). He was also honored as a Hero of Emergency Medicine by ACEP and received the ACEP Council Meritorious Service Award. Dr. Jacoby is an assistant clinical professor in the Department of Traumatology and Emergency Medicine at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine. He is a board trustee and former president of the Connecticut Community Foundation, a board member of the Palace Theater and Jane Doe No More, and a past chairman of the Greater Waterbury Chamber of Commerce Health Care Council.

Susan Webster has served since 2006 as Executive Director of the Northwest CT Public Safety Communication Center, a regional 9-1-1 communications center, which receives 9-1-1 calls, provides pre-arrival instructions on medical calls and dispatches ambulance and fire departments for nine towns. The communications center also provides Coordinated Medical Emergency Direction (C-Med) or ambulance to hospital communications for 23 municipalities. Susan previously held the position of Operations Manager for American Medical Response (AMR), managing an operation of 30 Advanced Life Support ambulances and Paramedic Intercept vehicles. Prior to that, she worked as the Quality Improvement Coordinator, Communications Supervisor, Operations Supervisor, Field Paramedic, and as a Telecommunicator, all for AMR. Susan currently holds certifications as a State of Connecticut Telecommunicator, in System Status Management, Advanced Emergency Medical Dispatch and as an EMD-Q. She is affiliated with The National Emergency Number Association (NENA), where she serves as the 1st Vice President of the Connecticut Chapter, Association of Public Safety Communication Officials (APCO), Regional Emergency Communication Center Association (RECCA) and Managers of Emergency Communication Centers Association (MECCA), in which she holds the position of Chairman. Susan also serves as the Treasurer of the Region 5 EMS Council.

Tickets to the Champion Dinner are $50 per person. Proceeds will support the Emergency Responders Fund at Saint Mary’s Hospital Foundation. To purchase tickets or for information about sponsorship opportunities, please call the Saint Mary’s Hospital Foundation at (203) 709-6390. Tickets may be purchased online at

Media Contact

Jennifer Clement
Corporate Communications Specialist

(203) 709-6240