Book online with select Franklin Medical Group physicians

Our Partners

  • Valley Health Alliance Accountable Care Organization

Valley Health Alliance Accountable Care Organization

The Valley Health Alliance’s overall mission is to provide high quality and cost-effective health care services to patients within the greater Waterbury region.  The Valley Health Alliance was selected as Medicare Shared Saving Program Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs).  ACOs are groups of doctors, hospitals, and other health care providers, who come together voluntarily to deliver coordinated high quality care to the Medicare patients they serve. Coordinated care helps ensure that patients, especially the chronically ill, get the right care at the right time, with the goal of avoiding unnecessary duplication of services and preventing medical errors.

For general questions or additional information about Accountable Care Organizations, please visit or call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) TTY users should call 1-877-486-2048.

ACO Name and Location

Valley Health Alliance

56 Franklin Street

Waterbury, CT 06706

ACO Primary Contact

Cathy Galligan

Executive Director

56 Franklin Street

Waterbury, CT 06706

Telephone: 203-709-6311

Email address:                                               

ACO Participants

  • Kanagaratnam Jegathesan MD, PC
  • Associate Physicians of Southbury, PC
  • Franklin Medical Group PC
  • Scovill Medical Group PC

ACO Governing Body

  • Steven Schneider MD, Chair, Voting Members
  • Jason Ouellette, MD, Vice Chair Voting Members
  • Ralph Becker, Treasurer Voting Members
  • Alfred Durante Beneficiary Representative
  • Laura Brenes-Dorso, MD Voting Members
  • Michael Trager, MD Voting Members
  • John Testa, MD   Voting Members
  • Peter Jacoby, MD   Voting Members
  • Phillip Corvo, MD   Voting Members
  • Robert Gumbardo, MD Voting Members
  • S. Mark Albini, MD   Voting Members
  • William Frederick, MD Voting Members
  • James Uberti, MD   Voting Members
  • Fausto Lanao, MD   Voting Members
  • Eric Olson, MD  Voting Members  

Key Clinical and Administrative Leadership

  • ACO President – Steven Schneider, MD
  • ACO Executive Director- Cathy Galligan
  • ACO Medical Director-S. Mark Albini, MD

ACO Committees and Committee Leaderships

  • Medical Management Committee-S. Mark Albini, MD Chair

Type of ACO Participant

  • Partnership Joint venture “Saint Mary’s Hospital  between hospital and ACO professionals

Shared Savings and Losses

  • Amount of Shared Savings/Losses
  • To be completed at the conclusion of the performance year.

Shared Savings Distribution

  • To be completed at the conclusion of the performance

Payment Rule Waivers

  • No, our ACO does not utilize the SNF 3-Day Rule Waiver

Quality Performance Results

  • To be completed at the conclusion of the performance year